webinar register page

Webinar banner
This webinar is for users with a Zoom account. New to Zoom? Sign up free.
Archipelagic Encounters
Symposium website: http://go.unimelb.edu.au/6gqj

Thinking archipelagically from the Carribean, Édouard Glissant noted that “each island embodies openness. The dialectic between inside and outside is reflected in the relationship of land and sea.” Similarly, Epeli Hau’ofa considered the Pacific an oceanic continent punctuated by dynamic island homelands, with fluid genealogies to the migration of the Austronesian peoples from Southeast Asia into and across the Southern hemisphere, and forward into new affiliations outside inert colonial temporalities.

In this symposium, postgraduate researchers from McNally School of Fine Arts, LASALLE College of the Arts, Singapore, and the Centre of Visual Art, University of Melbourne, Australia come together to explore historical and contemporary cultural exchanges in the arts, addressing time, space, disciplinary exchange and cross-island exchange. The presentations provide a glimpse of the cutting edge research conducted by postgraduates at McNally and CoVA and jointly point toward the increasing awareness and significance of cultural transformation as a mode of work for contemporary artistic researchers.


11.45am (AEDT) / 8.45am (SGT)
Introductory remarks from Dr Venka Purushothaman, Vice President [Academic] & Provost, LASALLE College of the Arts
Introductory remarks from Prof Su Baker, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Community and Cultural Partnerships & Director, Centre of Visual Arts (CoVA), University of Melbourne

12noon (AEDT) / 9am (SGT)
Opening Keynote from Prof Claire Bishop, Professor of Contemporary Art, City University of New York - "Interventions: The Art of Political Timing"

1-5pm (AEDT) / 10am-2pm (SGT)
Please see schedule on our website. Register for this webinar to receive Zoom links.

5pm (AEDT) / 2pm (SGT)
Closing Keynote from Sopheap Pich, artist - "From the Forest to the Studio"

6pm (AEDT) / 3pm (SGT)
Closing remarks from organising committee

Nov 5, 2020 11:45 AM in Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney

Webinar logo
Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Chloe.